In car multigauge

What are you developing?
zmemw16
Posts: 1580
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 2:09 pm
Location: St Annes, Lancs,UK

Re: In car multigauge

Post by zmemw16 » Sat Apr 01, 2017 6:45 pm

as its not mobile, probably clutch or crankshaft, differential :D
srp
<edit>
add 'on restart' , gasket followed by gearbox, does it suggest a transmission problem causing overloads ?</edit>
Last edited by zmemw16 on Mon Apr 03, 2017 4:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7539
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: In car multigauge

Post by RogerClark » Sun Apr 02, 2017 6:21 am

OMG..

That doesnt sound like much fun.

User avatar
BennehBoy
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:21 pm
Location: Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: In car multigauge

Post by BennehBoy » Tue Apr 04, 2017 9:02 pm

It's not fun.

But it's allowed me to do some hardware hacking... I'm uprating some of the bearings int he gearbox to make it stronger. The actual fault I'm fixing has nothing at all to do with that though, a 5 quid part broke and fell to the bottom of the gearbox which meant the whole thing had to come off....


Image
-------------------------------------
https://github.com/BennehBoy

stevestrong
Posts: 1933
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:06 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: In car multigauge

Post by stevestrong » Wed Apr 05, 2017 7:29 am

Wow, now that's real hardware ! :D

User avatar
BennehBoy
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:21 pm
Location: Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: In car multigauge

Post by BennehBoy » Mon Apr 10, 2017 10:59 am

Gearbox all sorted so I can now turn my attention back to electronics & code :D
-------------------------------------
https://github.com/BennehBoy

User avatar
BennehBoy
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:21 pm
Location: Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: In car multigauge

Post by BennehBoy » Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:46 am

74HC154 demux based version uploaded to github, also includes a modified SSD_1306 library that works with the MUX154 library I've forked on my github (added a disable mode).
-------------------------------------
https://github.com/BennehBoy

User avatar
BennehBoy
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:21 pm
Location: Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: In car multigauge

Post by BennehBoy » Thu Jul 06, 2017 12:26 pm

All my gear has been packed away since April so I've made zero progress on this, fingers crossed it's getting unpacked this week so I can move things forward.... if I can remember how it works! :lol:
-------------------------------------
https://github.com/BennehBoy

User avatar
Pito
Posts: 1695
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:26 pm
Location: Rapa Nui

Re: In car multigauge

Post by Pito » Thu Jul 06, 2017 12:32 pm

Edd China may help you with it :)
Pukao Hats Cleaning Services Ltd.

User avatar
BennehBoy
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:21 pm
Location: Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: In car multigauge

Post by BennehBoy » Fri Jul 14, 2017 12:43 pm

Pito wrote:
Thu Jul 06, 2017 12:32 pm
Edd China may help you with it :)
He needs a new job :D

Still not unpacked.

Got a bit distracted by an upgrade to my pc system : Ryzen 1700X with an NVMe SSD - man that thing flies!
-------------------------------------
https://github.com/BennehBoy

Rx7man
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2017 3:36 am

Re: In car multigauge

Post by Rx7man » Sun Nov 12, 2017 8:23 pm

Interesting project.... I have similar goals on my '94 Dodge (Cummins) diesel.. non OBD2 compliant vehicle.

I've come across a number of the same issues you have been having, and because of eternal scope creep (don't we all know about that), I've found some decent solutions to it all...

I too was getting to the point where my rats nest of wiring was starting to cause all sorts of electrical interference, etc, as well as 3.3V/5V compatibility issues, Processor load problems, and so on...

So what I did was make a few small boxes to collect data under the hood.. they all talk over CAN to each other, which eliminates ground problems, etc... Also, I have one box with an Arduino Pro Mini that takes care of all the 5V sensors, no need for resistor bridges. Then I have a blue pill that takes care of all the 3.3V stuff.. 9DOF, BME280, MAX31856's... Inside the cab (a work in progress), another blue pill that has a rotary encoder input (for data selection) and takes care of the display(s), blinky LED's, and so forth. I also have an HE351VE turbo which is a variable vane turbo that is controlled via CAN bus, so as a remnant of previous efforts, it is still controlled by a Mega2560.. That will change in the future.
Another node will be added at some point when I get a different injector pump that will be electrically controlled (PWM signal).
I'm supplying each node with it's own 12V power and CAN signal lines.. so pretty much it's just 4 wires to each one, makes for much neater wiring and no more ground loops... Also, it's a little easier to code for, at least for me.

If you're using a 100PSI generic pressure sensor for a lot of things that don't go over ~65PSI, you don't need to have any resistor bridges... The other option is to go a step up in sensor range.. Just an idea!

Lastly, since I hate loss of precision when I can help it, I do a lot of work in floating point, and to transfer them from one node to another, you use a "union".. it works wonderfully, low overhead, etc.

Code: Select all

union Fourbyte{
   byte b[4];
   float f;
   uint32_t uint32;
   int32_t int32;
}

Fourbyte value1, value2;

void somefunction(){
   value1.f = 1.2345f;
   value2.int32 = -12345;

  for(int i=0; i<4; i++){
   	Serial.println(value1.b[i], HEX); //display the value as it's stored in memory
   }
   
}

Just some of my thoughts and how I got around my problems

Post Reply