Invalid stack in RAM when debugging F4 board with STLink in Eclipse

Post Reply
stevestrong
Posts: 1154
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:06 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Invalid stack in RAM when debugging F4 board with STLink in Eclipse

Post by stevestrong » Mon Jun 05, 2017 8:11 am

Well, I have the mentioned problem in the title.
STM32F4_debug_RAM.jpg
STM32F4_debug_RAM.jpg (115.88 KiB) Viewed 119 times
The memory monitor window for the stack area shows invalid (zero) data.

Stepping through the code till a specific point is OK, then after returning from a function it jumps to 0 (due to stack?).

Variable inspection is OK.

What I am missing?

danieleff
Posts: 269
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2016 8:52 pm
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Invalid stack in RAM when debugging F4 board with STLink in Eclipse

Post by danieleff » Mon Jun 05, 2017 11:31 am

I think it is only an eclipse memory display bug, and those are actually not zeros. Try to start the stack lower.

stevestrong
Posts: 1154
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:06 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Invalid stack in RAM when debugging F4 board with STLink in Eclipse

Post by stevestrong » Mon Jun 05, 2017 1:00 pm

Funny thing.
I had in the Debug configurations->Debugger, GDB Client Setup: Commands: "set mem inaccessible-by-default off".
I deleted this, restarted the board and the debugger and now it shows the stack data.

However, I still changes sometimes to show all zero, then back to show valid data after doing a step.

Is GDB faulty? Should I change to a newer version?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests