A6 GPRS Module Quad band

Anything not related to STM32
simonf
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 4:03 pm

A6 GPRS Module Quad band

Post by simonf » Tue Jun 07, 2016 1:07 am

I got my A6 development kit the other day and I most say I am impressed.
The A6 Modules are "EXPENSIVE" well when I say expensive they are 3 times as expensive as the cheep (now apparently second hand modules) available from ali-express @ a hefty $US4.20 delivered. Well this is definitely a case of you get what you pay for. The Sub Module contains a proper MP1584N power controller ic. A Real aerial which gives me good indoor reception as opposed to the 3bars I get on my phone.

The manual is a bit Chinglish but I converted the module docs to english with google translate.

If you buy the Dev Board which I did you actually get a "phone-lite", you can make calls and send test texts. It comes with a graphic dot matrix display and a keypad all powered by a 8051 powered STC processor. Oh and you get all the source code. It comes with a CH340 USB to serial Chip you can monitor it as it sends texts and makes calls. If you flip all the dip switches to the opposite positions, I.E. 2,4 on and 1,3,5,6 all off, you can control the module directly with termite (115200b/s). I used the Dev board to get familiar with the modual and its great for that.

The sub module has a micro usb connector to power it with a phone PSU etc. Also the 5vUSB is connected to the 5V pin on the DIP connector so you could use that power connector to power your whole project. :) I used one of those cheep usb power meters to test the consumption of the module. After 3 hours of messing around it had used 12mAh. Most of the time it doesn't register any power it peaks to 60/70mA when sending a text. And about 20mA when messing around with GPRS.

It has a few really nice features that you may not have considered usefull.

1/ A real time clock that is set by the network it also knows its Time Zone.
2/ 15 alarms yes 15 all with repeat function so you can set an alarm for 12 Noon and have it repeat Every day or every weekday etc. The alarm also powers the module on so for say a AMR system you could set the alarm for midnight each day the module would power up send +CALV: <n> to the controller the controller could then tell the module to send the data as a text and power the module down. Which can also be done by a single AT Command.
3/ A low power mode <1mA. All functionally still works SMS phone e.t.c. but the AT command serial is off this is controlled by pulling a single pin low.

I have So far managed to.
Make a call
Receive a call with CLID (Caller Line ID) Cnam is not passed by my carrier this is standard in the UK.
Send a Text
Receive a Text
View Edit the phone book on the SIM.
Set an alarm and wake the module.
Look up a DNS Address.
Establish a TCP data connection to my SSH server. Note you cannot establish a TCP connection to a domain only an IP Address.

Below some typical output.

Startup Sequence

Code: Select all

^CINIT: 1, 0, 0

^CINIT: 2, 32, 41891

^CINIT: 8, 2048, 1

^CINIT: 16, 0, 1638410

^CINIT: 32, 0, 0

+CREG: 0

+CTZV:16/06/06,23:23:36,+01

+CIEV: service,  1
+CIEV: roam, 0

+CREG: 1

A typical TCP/IP session. (Lookup DNS and Connect to SSH server)

Code: Select all

========>AT+CIPSTART="TCP","0.0.0.0",0


+CGREG: 1

+CME ERROR:50

+CME ERROR:50

+CGREG: 1
========>AT+CDNSGIP=www.iii.com

+CDNSGIP: 1,"www.iii.com","66.150.245.134"

OK

+CDNSGIP: 1,"www.iii.com","66.150.245.134"

OK

+CGREG: 1
========>at+cipstatus

+IPSTATUS: 

OK
========>at+cipclose

OK
========>at+cipstatus

+IPSTATUS: IP CLOSE

OK
========>AT+CIPSTART="TCP","37.59.xxx.xxx",22

CONNECT OK

OK

+CGREG: 1

+CIPRCV:41,SSH-2.0-OpenSSH_5.9p1 Debian-5ubuntu1.9

[00]
OK

+CGREG: 1
========>at+cipstatus

+IPSTATUS: CONNECT OK

OK
+TCPCLOSED:0


+CGREG: 1
========>at+cipclose

OK

+CGREG: 1
========>at+cipstatus

+IPSTATUS: IP CLOSE

OK
My commands are shown beginning with ========>

The first TCP/IP always seems to fail as if it tries to connect before it manages to get the network up I found the best thing to do is to connect to a fake address AT+CIPSTART="TCP","0.0.0.0",0 then close the connection (It doesn't shut down the network ). Then access the site you want to I find you are best closing the previous connection before starting the next.

I will try to get round to writing a library when I finish doing the decorating.

simonf
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: A6 GPRS Module Quad band

Post by simonf » Wed Jun 08, 2016 12:27 am

You can get all the info on this module Here


simonf
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: A6 GPRS Module Quad band

Post by simonf » Sun Jul 31, 2016 3:46 pm

It looks like AI are expanding their range the new A7 is going to have built in GPS no pricing yet. And the A6C will have camera input.

Datasheets

simonf
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 4:03 pm

Add a camera and voice / data internet to a project

Post by simonf » Mon Oct 31, 2016 2:16 pm

Add a camera and voice / data internet to a project for about $12. It says you can access the camera via AT commands. I will probably buy one an have a play.

Looks like the A6Cs are shipping

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-Sh ... 357364fa5f

jaromir
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 4:50 pm

Re: A6 GPRS Module Quad band

Post by jaromir » Mon Oct 31, 2016 11:49 pm

simonf wrote:Oh and you get all the source code.
Is the source code available somewhere? I got mine with no sources, documentation or whatever else.

simonf
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: A6 GPRS Module Quad band

Post by simonf » Tue Nov 01, 2016 1:14 am

If you are talking about the A6 board I think I got it here

https://drive.google.com/folderview?id= ... sp=sharing

simonf
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 4:03 pm

GPS Receiver and SMS / voice for $14

Post by simonf » Tue Nov 01, 2016 1:25 am

If you are looking for a cheap GPS receiver the A7 is now available for around $14.

http://eud.dx.com/product/gprs-a7-seria ... -844445823

zmemw16
Posts: 1151
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 2:09 pm
Location: St Annes, Lancs,UK

Re: A6 GPRS Module Quad band

Post by zmemw16 » Tue Nov 01, 2016 11:43 am

oh how i wish people stopped posting such links.
pavlov has a lot to answer for! :D
stephen

added

£8.84

https://www.aliexpress.com/store/produc ... 93146.html

User avatar
Pito
Posts: 1107
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:26 pm
Location: Rapa Nui

Re: A6 GPRS Module Quad band

Post by Pito » Tue Nov 01, 2016 3:01 pm

Is that with GPS and 2 antennas? The description does not mention it..
Pukao Hats Cleaning Services Ltd.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest