Cannot use STM32FreeRTOS with STM32duinoBLE

Post here first, or if you can't find a relevant section!
Post Reply
jayadamsmorgan
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2023 11:44 pm

Cannot use STM32FreeRTOS with STM32duinoBLE

Post by jayadamsmorgan »

I created an issue on GitHub about my problem: https://github.com/stm32duino/STM32duinoBLE/issues/63

Shortly, whenever I try to even include STM32FreeRTOS.h into my sketch that uses STM32duinoBLE, it hangs on BLE.begin(). I use P-Nucleo WB32 board. Have no idea why that happens, maybe someone here can help me with that. Thank you in advance.
User avatar
fpiSTM
Posts: 1723
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:11 pm
Answers: 91
Location: Le Mans
Contact:

Re: Cannot use STM32FreeRTOS with STM32duinoBLE

Post by fpiSTM »

Hi @jayadamsmorgan
Answered on the GH issue.
ag123
Posts: 1653
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2019 5:30 am
Answers: 24

Re: Cannot use STM32FreeRTOS with STM32duinoBLE

Post by ag123 »

for those who may be interested
i've got this so called 'A stm32duino event loop'
https://github.com/ag88/stm32duino-eventloop

it is original build around libmaple core (https://github.com/rogerclarkmelbourne/Arduino_STM32), but that it would likely 'just works' on STM core (https://github.com/stm32duino/Arduino_Core_STM32).

For those who have done some 'windows' programming or as like NodeJS (Javascript), this is an *event loop* that is run off the

Code: Select all

void loop() {
...
}
loop. With this model, write and register 'event handlers', which gets called from void loop() and process the events. It is a kind of 'co-operative multitasking' which avoids the (sys)tick based context switching as is done from various RTOS.

e.g. loop() calls your event handler, your event handler process that event, and return, loop() calls another event handler etc. And it maintain an event queue which can be used to pass messages / events to other event handlers. this concept 'really works' but is async.
Post Reply

Return to “General discussion”