Problem with Port

How to install STM32 core into the Arduino IDE, and any OS specific issues
wegrei

Problem with Port

Post by wegrei »

Hi All,

I am pretty new to the microprocessor world and I am struggeling to connect my Black Pill to the Arduino IDE (Version 1.8.13).
Just a quick word what happens. I have installed everything in accordance to the instructions shown on following webpage:

https://www.sgbotic.com/index.php?dispa ... page_id=49

Almost everything is working fine so far. The system detects the right com port, I can ask for the Boardinformation, which shows board connected to Port COM4.
If I try to download the sample blink program without pressing the BOOTO and NRST buttons (press and hold BOOTO then press and release the NRST button, the release the BOOTO button), the IDE compiles the program but the upload failes. Following comment is comming up:

Error: Target device not found
Establishing connection with the device failed

If I do the same after pressing the buttons in sequence I immediatelly loose my COM4 port. Even in the Windows (10) hardware manager it shows that the STM is disabeled. After unplugging and reconnecting the hardware the Port is back again.

Made the same experience even with the Bluepill after installing the bootloader on it. With the ST-LINK2 I run into similar problems.

Anyhow I would like to stick with the blackpill as the bootloader is already preinstalled and I don not have to worry about that.

It seems to me that the problem might be driver related but not sure about that.

Does anybody has an idea?

Thanks and many greetings

Werner
by Jwolffbrandt » Sat Mar 26, 2022 1:43 am
Tie pin A10 to ground during the button presses to bootload.