[Solved] Couldn't find G474RE on "PORT"

Post here all questions related to STM32 core if you can't find a relevant section!
Post Reply
mianqi
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 4:35 am

[Solved] Couldn't find G474RE on "PORT"

Post by mianqi »

I have installed STcores in my Arduino IDE, and it also shown the 2 files on the board.

I selected the right "NUCLEO 64" and "G474RE" board.

While, when I updated sketch onto it, it doesn't shown on "Port".
Attachments
Capture-6.PNG
Capture-6.PNG (21.94 KiB) Viewed 348 times

User avatar
fpiSTM
Posts: 194
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:11 pm
Answers: 4
Location: Le Mans
Contact:

Re: Couldn't find G474RE on "PORT"

Post by fpiSTM »

What is the name of the mass storage when it is connected?

Update the STLink firmware with STM32CubePrrogrammer, this will probably update the name.

mianqi
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 4:35 am

Re: Couldn't find G474RE on "PORT"

Post by mianqi »

see the attachment.
Attachments
Capture-5.PNG
Capture-5.PNG (13.85 KiB) Viewed 338 times

User avatar
fpiSTM
Posts: 194
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:11 pm
Answers: 4
Location: Le Mans
Contact:

Re: Couldn't find G474RE on "PORT"

Post by fpiSTM »

@mianqi

This is the COM port but I ask you what is the name of the mass storage device mounted.

Your issue is that you use the upload method "Mass Storage".
Then it search the mass storage device named: "NODE_G474RE" which should appears when you plug the board.

If you don't have a mass storage mounted then I guess you have updated the STlink firmware without this support in this case yo can't go back.

mianqi
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 4:35 am

Re: Couldn't find G474RE on "PORT"

Post by mianqi »

Thanks for your patient, based on your suggestion, I find the solution.

Hope it it would be useful for others:
Arduino IDE --> Tools --> Upload method --> STM32CubeProgrammer(SWD)

mianqi
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 4:35 am

Re: Couldn't find G474RE on "PORT"

Post by mianqi »

Whats more, although this website is new, it response quickly, and is really useful.

User avatar
fpiSTM
Posts: 194
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:11 pm
Answers: 4
Location: Le Mans
Contact:

Re: Couldn't find G474RE on "PORT"

Post by fpiSTM »

mianqi wrote:
Wed Feb 12, 2020 12:35 pm
Thanks for your patient, based on your suggestion, I find the solution.

Hope it it would be useful for others:
Arduino IDE --> Tools --> Upload method --> STM32CubeProgrammer(SWD)
Ok you change the upload method, anyway, you should be able to use the "Mass Storage" one except if you update the STLink firmware without the "Mass Storage" option.

Post Reply

Return to “General discussion”