Need help with USB device MSC implementation

Post here first, or if you can't find a relevant section!
matixan

Need help with USB device MSC implementation

Post by matixan »

Hello! I am new to this forum. There is my problem:

I am a beginner in STM and need some help.
I want to use SPI flash ic to store various data(fonts, graphics for LCD and config files) that the microcontroller can read and the user will have access to after connecting the board via usb. Like usb card reader. I've already seen examples from STMCubeIDE but I guess I can't use these files in an arduino environment anyway. Unfortunately, the source code of STM32duino also doesn't give me any examples.
I will be grateful for any examples or links from which I can use something. So far I have used arduino and I did not have to use the advanced features that STM32f4 can offer.
At this moment I figured out how to work with usb serial and its working fine for debugging.
My setup:
Custom board using STM32f401RBT6 (my github project link: https://github.com/matixan/STMBOX-ecig-battery )
Platformio with latest STM32duino core
Transfer speed ​​doesn't really matter to me, but ofc faster=better

Secondly, If i managed how to do this, which library for SPI flash(W25Q64) should I use? Does it matter?
ag123
Answers: 24

Re: Need help with USB device MSC implementation

Post by ag123 »

dealing with USB MSC isn't a 'for beginners' thing.
there are a bunch of specs you can find on usb.org, those are basic reading materials

https://www.usb.org/document-library/ma ... verview-14
https://www.usb.org/document-library/ma ... lk-only-10
https://www.usb.org/document-library/ma ... ication-10
https://www.usb.org/document-library/ma ... ication-10
https://www.usb.org/document-library/ma ... ication-11

accordingly in addition to the above usb mass storage is really scsi over usb mass storage (e.g. bulk only), the ufi specs has some of that.