MIDI file player?

Post here first, or if you can't find a relevant section!
GVisser
Answers: 1

MIDI file player?

Post by GVisser »

Hi all,

I am in search of a simple midi file player that I could use in my project, so was looking at https://github.com/JBSchueler/arduino-midi-player_stm32.

The problem is that the sketch won't compile for my STM32F401. Among other errors it is complaining about the HardwareTimer

Code: Select all

arduino-midi-player_stm32:43:24: error: invalid conversion from 'int' to 'TIM_TypeDef*' [-fpermissive]
   43 | HardwareTimer pwmtimer(3);
The code also seems to be using uint8 and uint16 instead of uint8_t and uint16_t

So my question is: Is there a simple way to get this code to work for my core or would I need to 'port' the code?

Remember: I am a newbie so please please little words in your answers *chuckle*

PS. If you happen to know of another midi file player sketch that I could use, please let me know that as well :-)
by Bakisha » Fri Jun 26, 2020 9:18 pm
Hi, i might help a little bit since once i did project with audio with PWM. After a quick look on a sketch, i changed few line, to be able to compile on official core:

//HardwareTimer pwmtimer(3);
HardwareTimer *pwmtimer = new HardwareTimer(TIM3);

void PWM_Init( void )
{
  /*
    Timer3.attachCompare1Interrupt( irq_handler_timer3 ); // <-- this will set all the needed clokcks and int vectors
    pwmtimer.setPrescaleFactor(9);
    pwmtimer.setCount(0);
    pwmtimer.setOverflow(255);
    pinMode(Spkr, PWM);
    pwmWritefast(Spkr, 128);
  */

pwmtimer->pause();
  pwmtimer->setOverflow(31250, HERTZ_FORMAT); // calculate prescaler and overflow
  pwmtimer->setMode(3, TIMER_OUTPUT_COMPARE_PWM1, PB0); // TIM3 CH3 - PWM
  pwmtimer->attachInterrupt(irq_handler_timer3);        // attach interrupt on overflow
  pwmtimer->resume();

}

static void pwmWritefast(uint8_t pin, uint16_t duty_cycle)
{
  //timer_set_compare(PIN_MAP[pin].timer_device, PIN_MAP[pin].timer_channel, duty_cycle);