Factory Resetting my Blue Pill

Post here first, or if you can't find a relevant section!
Ooozair

Factory Resetting my Blue Pill

Post by Ooozair »

Hey everyone, long time Arduino (ATMEGA328P) user, but first time STM32 user.

I picked up some STM32F103C8 Blue Pill's from Amazon, it's day 2 of using these guys. I'm literally a complete beginner, sorry if I ask any questions that seem obvious.

I was able to upload basic blink programs via ST-Link V2 using the arduino IDE and PlatformIO on VScode.

But, I wanted to read data from the Serial Port, so I tried installing the Roger Clark USB driver. I did this through STMCube32, and with an ST-Link V2.

That worked properly- I get the rapid flashing LED to indicate that the USB bootloader is installed. I installed the drivers for Windows, and when I plug into the USB port I see "Maple Serial" in my Device Manager.

Now, I've got problems.
I cannot upload any code to the device via the arduino IDE. I've tried all different upload methods. I see my COM port in the list (which I wasn't able to before). But, it's simply listed as "COM23", no "maple" indicators afterwards. I've tried uploading with all jumpers in different positions- no luck.

Ultimately- my end goal is: Upload programs via PlatformIO using ST-Link v2, but have access to the Serial Monitor vis USB as well. Worst case, I can read serial with a USB to Serial device too, but ideally I can use this USB port

But right now, I can't do anything with the device. Can't upload code, cant seem to figure out how to reset it. I CAN still connect to it via STlink and STMCube32, and can see all of the addresses and data, so I know I can reflash it, but what do I reflash it with? Is there a factory bootloader?. What do I do to get back to square 1 and try this again, back to uploading programs with ST-Link. And then, what steps do I need to take to get this working the way I want?