STM32 ports not visible

Post here first, or if you can't find a relevant section!
criz
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 31, 2024 3:20 pm

Re: STM32 ports not visible

Post by criz »

GonzoG wrote: Thu Jun 13, 2024 5:04 pm
criz wrote: Thu Jun 13, 2024 2:09 pm
GonzoG wrote: Tue Jun 11, 2024 9:31 pm COM port is not visible because there is no COM port until you upload program that has COM port enabled.
Those bootloaders (maple bootloader and HID bootloader) do not use COM port for upload. They detect board by specific ID. COM port is needed only to reset board from Arduino IDE and enter bootloader.
You can boot into bootloader manually using boot pins.
Can you explain this?What should I do?
No COM port needed.
Reset board into USB bootloader (using boot pins), select correct upload method in arduino IDE, upload sketch.
I have tried that.I set boot0 in to 1 and boot1 in to 0.Then connected stm32 to the laptop using microusb cable and tried to upload via arduino ide.I selected the upload method as 'stm32duino bootloader'.I have also tried 'serial' method also,In both cases it showed 'Couldn't find the DFU device: [1EAF:0003]'.
criz
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 31, 2024 3:20 pm

Re: STM32 ports not visible

Post by criz »

'Couldn't find the DFU device: [1EAF:0003]'.
All I am getting is this when I try to program stm32 using arduino ide.Any way to solve this?
GonzoG
Posts: 427
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 11:30 am
Answers: 30
Location: Prudnik, Poland

Re: STM32 ports not visible

Post by GonzoG »

criz wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 9:25 am
GonzoG wrote: Thu Jun 13, 2024 5:04 pm
criz wrote: Thu Jun 13, 2024 2:09 pm
Can you explain this?What should I do?
No COM port needed.
Reset board into USB bootloader (using boot pins), select correct upload method in arduino IDE, upload sketch.
I have tried that.I set boot0 in to 1 and boot1 in to 0.Then connected stm32 to the laptop using microusb cable and tried to upload via arduino ide.I selected the upload method as 'stm32duino bootloader'.I have also tried 'serial' method also,In both cases it showed 'Couldn't find the DFU device: [1EAF:0003]'.
Are you sure you've set boot pins correctly ?? If I remember correctly, BOOT0 is for built-it serial bootloader.
ag123
Posts: 1753
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2019 5:30 am
Answers: 27

Re: STM32 ports not visible

Post by ag123 »

criz wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 9:35 am 'Couldn't find the DFU device: [1EAF:0003]'.
All I am getting is this when I try to program stm32 using arduino ide.Any way to solve this?
have you taken a look at this comment/post ? that is pretty good 'advise' for starters, get a better board / chip !
viewtopic.php?p=14358#p14358

ok now to try to help you out with your issue.
stm32f103c6t6 (or even (stm32f103) c8t6) cannot be programmed over a normal usb (phone) cable
you need at least a st-link v2 dongle
https://www.adafruit.com/product/2548
https://www.st.com/en/development-tools/st-link-v2.html
or a usb-uart dongle (get 3.3v ones)
https://www.aliexpress.com/w/wholesale-usb-uart.html
for 'tutorials' about this try google search e.g.:
https://www.google.com/search?q=blue+pi ... l+usb-uart
https://www.phippselectronics.com/bluep ... ogramming/

and actually there is a wiki for stm32duino
it is a pretty good guide to get started and more
https://github.com/stm32duino/Arduino_Core_STM32/wiki
and if you are reading the wiki from roger's core
https://github.com/rogerclarkmelbourne/ ... STM32/wiki
do review most of that, for a start, the 'average' stm32f103xx chip/board (e.g. 'blue pill') are *raw* chips
you need to install the *custom boot loader* to use it as like with a simple usb (phone) cable
and to install that, you need st-link v2 dongle or usb-uart dongle.

alternatively review the first link in this comment
Post Reply

Return to “General discussion”