Can"t program via USB -> "NODE_F446RE not found." ???

Post here first, or if you can't find a relevant section!
Post Reply
killacycle
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2024 1:59 am

Can"t program via USB -> "NODE_F446RE not found." ???

Post by killacycle »

Hi Forum Folks,
My new batch, MB1136-F446RE-C05, A240300248 appears to not program via USB using the Arduino IDE ver 2.3.4. (Old batch -C04, loads the same program perfectly, using the same everything.) Tried three from the -C05 batch and had the same issue.

I get the error message:
"NODE_F446RE not found. Please ensure the device is correctly connected.
Failed uploading: uploading error: exit status 7"

The IDE apparently connects to the board perfectly. The board lights up correctly and runs its version of blinky, just as it should. The IDE panel shows it is connected. It even answers "Get Board Info" with the proper response. It just fails to upload any program.
Tried different ports, different cables, different computers, with identical results. :-(

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance,
Bill D.
fpiSTM
Posts: 1920
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:11 pm
Answers: 107
Location: Le Mans
Contact:

Re: Can"t program via USB -> "NODE_F446RE not found." ???

Post by fpiSTM »

Is the node name correct?
Sometimes, new boards have a different name like "NOD_F446RE".
Other option is to update the STLink firmware.
killacycle
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2024 1:59 am

Re: Can"t program via USB -> "NODE_F446RE not found." ???

Post by killacycle »

How would I go about altering the node name?

I could easily be completely wrong, but thought when target connected via the USB, it provides that handle/name?

The previous batch of boards, F446RE-C04, would indeed identify with "NOD_F446RE". This batch, F446RE-C05, identifies itself as "NODE_F446RE".

Any suggestions you may have would be appreciated very much.

Thank you so much in advance,
Bill D.
ag123
Posts: 1883
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2019 5:30 am
Answers: 30

Re: Can"t program via USB -> "NODE_F446RE not found." ???

Post by ag123 »

among the things to try is Sketch > export compiled binary
the bin file would be left somewhere in your sketch folder (e.g. build subdirectory)
then use stm32cube programmer or some such app (e.g. dfu-util) to flash the bin file manually.

do note that for DFU programming it is necessary to set boot0 pin and reset so that it goes into bootloader prior to attempt to flash the bin file.
in addition, be wary and do not connect anything on the uart lines or the boot loader may instead listen at the uart instead for programming instructions.
fpiSTM
Posts: 1920
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:11 pm
Answers: 107
Location: Le Mans
Contact:

Re: Can"t program via USB -> "NODE_F446RE not found." ???

Post by fpiSTM »

killacycle wrote: Fri Jan 03, 2025 7:57 am The previous batch of boards, F446RE-C04, would indeed identify with "NOD_F446RE". This batch, F446RE-C05, identifies itself as "NODE_F446RE".
I guess it's the opposite: F446RE-C05 have NOD_F446RE.

Node name are defined in the boards.txt:
https://github.com/stm32duino/Arduino_C ... s.txt#L585

You can add the new name like this:

Code: Select all

-Nucleo_64.menu.pnum.NUCLEO_F446RE.node=NODE_F446RE
+Nucleo_64.menu.pnum.NUCLEO_F446RE.node="NODE_F446RE,NOD_F446RE"
killacycle
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2024 1:59 am

Re: Can"t program via USB -> "NODE_F446RE not found." ???

Post by killacycle »

You are 100% correct. The "C05" board in fact identifies itself as "NOD_F446RE" The IDE does indeed is trying to find "NODE_" not "NOD_".

I have tried, but I can't figure out where the latest "boards.txt" is hiding on my disk drive to edit it. Any clue as to where in the Users folder it might be located?

I have searched and found several older boards.txt files, but not the current/active one.

It would be super if I could change the board file handle name somehow. <sigh>

Again, thanks in advance,
Bill D.
killacycle
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2024 1:59 am

A bit of a Kludge (was: Can"t program via USB -> "NODE_F446RE not found." ???)

Post by killacycle »

This kludge appeared to work:
I went into file explorer, double clicked on the "USB drive", and renamed the device "NODE_F446RE".
The name did not appear to be altered, but somehow the IDE was able to upload the program. :D

Bizarre!

Thanks for all your suggestions :-)

Bill D.
fpiSTM
Posts: 1920
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:11 pm
Answers: 107
Location: Le Mans
Contact:

Re: Can"t program via USB -> "NODE_F446RE not found." ???

Post by fpiSTM »

I will update the Node name.
fpiSTM
Posts: 1920
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:11 pm
Answers: 107
Location: Le Mans
Contact:

Re: Can"t program via USB -> "NODE_F446RE not found." ???

Post by fpiSTM »

@killacycle
In fact no need to update the list of node name.
The upload scripts manage it by removing the "E" from "NODE" and try to find it.
I don't understand why it does not works for you. :?
I've tested on my side and it works.
Post Reply

Return to “General discussion”