Nucleo-H533re support?

All about boards manufactured by ST
Post Reply
Composite
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2024 11:09 pm

Nucleo-H533re support?

Post by Composite »

GonzoG
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 11:30 am
Answers: 36
Location: Prudnik, Poland

Re: Nucleo-H533re support?

Post by GonzoG »

You can add it yourself and then open PR on github to include it in next release:
https://github.com/stm32duino/Arduino_C ... 28board%29
Composite
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2024 11:09 pm

Re: Nucleo-H533re support?

Post by Composite »

GonzoG wrote: Sat Mar 22, 2025 12:55 pm You can add it yourself and then open PR on github to include it in next release:
https://github.com/stm32duino/Arduino_C ... 28board%29
Ha. Certainly, I could. But not, too much work on GPIO mapping table.
Sometimes I mod clock structure for my nucleos H7/F7/G4/F4, a few lines, but pins-monster is for collective work :D
GonzoG
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 11:30 am
Answers: 36
Location: Prudnik, Poland

Re: Nucleo-H533re support?

Post by GonzoG »

@Composite All GPIO mappings are done for almost every MCU in STM lineup. For most MCUs you only need to add clock config and sometimes do some changes in default pin assignments (default Serial, IIC, SPI, etc). There are also entries for boards.txt for generic variants, just need to copy them.

https://github.com/stm32duino/Arduino_C ... )T_H533RET
Composite
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2024 11:09 pm

Re: Nucleo-H533re support?

Post by Composite »

GonzoG wrote: Sat Mar 22, 2025 5:31 pm @Composite All GPIO mappings are done for almost every MCU in STM lineup. For most MCUs you only need to add clock config and sometimes do some changes in default pin assignments (default Serial, IIC, SPI, etc). There are also entries for boards.txt for generic variants, just need to copy them.

https://github.com/stm32duino/Arduino_C ... )T_H533RET
SPI - is easy, have configured many times, up to 120 MHz on H743
IIC - probably means I2C?
Serial, what makes arduino IDE attractive , and it has to be configured somewhere. There are more things under hood that needs to be integrated and be compatible, but I waste my time talking to void
GonzoG
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 11:30 am
Answers: 36
Location: Prudnik, Poland

Re: Nucleo-H533re support?

Post by GonzoG »

@Composite Adding you MCU/board you don't have to configure anything. Some defaults just may need to be set differently.

For example, Serial is usually assigned to PA0/PA1 (for not added MCUs), whereas in STM32duino it usually is assigned to PA9/PA10.
For MCUs with LPUART (like H533RET) you may need to set default Serial TX/RX pins to PA9_ALT/PA10_ALT or change those in mapping array.

So there is 1 file that definitely needs editing - generic_clock.c
And variant_generic.h may need editing - just the part with default pin assignment. And if you change default pins for Serial, you may need to change UART instance: #define SERIAL_UART_INSTANCE 4

Just use any for the existing H5xx generic definitions as example and it's 5-10 minutes to do another one.
Post Reply

Return to “STM boards (Discovery, Eval, Nucleo, ...)”