Having a problem with bootloader after uploading code
Re: Having a problem with bootloader after uploading code
For Roger'core a driver is needed because it uses a specific VID/PID. Using a referenced one will avoid to use the dedicated driver installation which in fact only a wrapper to the generic driver for this couple ID.
-
- Posts: 505
- Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2019 4:53 pm
- Location: Munich, Germany
- Contact:
Re: Having a problem with bootloader after uploading code
That is not quite correct.fpiSTM wrote: Sun Apr 19, 2020 7:47 am For Roger'core a driver is needed because it uses a specific VID/PID.
If it would be so, then it should be recognized as COM port after deleting the driver in the device manager on Windows.
But it won't work because of the specific USB device and configuration descriptors.
In my custom USB driver I use the same VID:PID as the libmaple core (1eaf:0004) and it recognizes as COM port directly (I had to delete the previous libmaple driver for this configuration).
And this is why @mauriziostm32 also has problems with the serial port, it needs a driver (even if this is only a wrapper, but is needed), otherwise it will be not recognized as COM port.
Re: Having a problem with bootloader after uploading code
If the desc is specific then yes. 

-
- Posts: 23
- Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 3:18 pm
Re: Having a problem with bootloader after uploading code
Hi Guys
Thanks to you all...
Thanks to Stevestrong for the effort on keeping alive and updated the original Roger's... I'm looking forward for the CDC
fpiSTM it seems my standard W7 installation doesn't have the driver??? very strange... I attach the picture
Tried on different port... but to be sure I will try on another PC with windows 7
Thanks
Thanks to you all...
Thanks to Stevestrong for the effort on keeping alive and updated the original Roger's... I'm looking forward for the CDC

fpiSTM it seems my standard W7 installation doesn't have the driver??? very strange... I attach the picture
Tried on different port... but to be sure I will try on another PC with windows 7
Thanks
- Attachments
-
- non funzia2.png (26.3 KiB) Viewed 32409 times
-
- Posts: 23
- Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 3:18 pm
Re: Having a problem with bootloader after uploading code
Hi Guys
I tried on another PC and as soon as I plugged the cable the device was recognized and the driver was self installed (or just the device was associated with the existing CDC driver) by windows 7...
I attach the picture...
So it seems that for some reason the other PC doesn't have the driver or doesn't make the association...
I'll check...
Thanks again
Maurizio
I tried on another PC and as soon as I plugged the cable the device was recognized and the driver was self installed (or just the device was associated with the existing CDC driver) by windows 7...
I attach the picture...
So it seems that for some reason the other PC doesn't have the driver or doesn't make the association...
I'll check...
Thanks again
Maurizio
- Attachments
-
- funzia.png (60.57 KiB) Viewed 32408 times
-
- Posts: 505
- Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2019 4:53 pm
- Location: Munich, Germany
- Contact:
Re: Having a problem with bootloader after uploading code
Maurizio, on the problematic PC try to uninstall the driver (check the deleting the driver box) for the unrecognized entry.
This will force the PC to newly search for an appropriate driver.
This will force the PC to newly search for an appropriate driver.
-
- Posts: 23
- Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 3:18 pm
Re: Having a problem with bootloader after uploading code
Hi Steve
It seems there is no driver to uninstall... so when I install the device and re-plug, the PC says that cannot install, I try to let the PC go on internet but it says there is no driver for this device... I think this PC is a little bit messed up
I have 2 more question a little bit out of topic, if is the case I open a new post.
1) To software reset in STM32 core I can use the function NVIC_SystemReset(); but what can I use for Roger's CORE?
2) I know that 99% the answer is no... but I try... is there a way to put the stm32f103c8... in bootloader mode by code? core related ?
Thanks
It seems there is no driver to uninstall... so when I install the device and re-plug, the PC says that cannot install, I try to let the PC go on internet but it says there is no driver for this device... I think this PC is a little bit messed up
I have 2 more question a little bit out of topic, if is the case I open a new post.
1) To software reset in STM32 core I can use the function NVIC_SystemReset(); but what can I use for Roger's CORE?
2) I know that 99% the answer is no... but I try... is there a way to put the stm32f103c8... in bootloader mode by code? core related ?
Thanks
- Attachments
-
- non funzia3.png (57.42 KiB) Viewed 32403 times
Re: Having a problem with bootloader after uploading code
Sounds stange as it is a generic driver for CDC class
Re: Having a problem with bootloader after uploading code
1.nvic_sys_reset()mauriziostm32 wrote: Sun Apr 19, 2020 11:05 am Hi Steve
It seems there is no driver to uninstall... so when I install the device and re-plug, the PC says that cannot install, I try to let the PC go on internet but it says there is no driver for this device... I think this PC is a little bit messed up
I have 2 more question a little bit out of topic, if is the case I open a new post.
1) To software reset in STM32 core I can use the function NVIC_SystemReset(); but what can I use for Roger's CORE?
2) I know that 99% the answer is no... but I try... is there a way to put the stm32f103c8... in bootloader mode by code? core related ?
Thanks
2. yes, it's possible, buy you have to do it yourself
find system boot address here
https://www.st.com/resource/en/applicat ... ronics.pdf
first disable all irqs, clocks, reset systemtick, probably reinit clock to use HSI and jump to system bootloader address or remap system memory to 0x0 and jump there
you can check example made with HAL here
https://github.com/stm32duino/Arduino_C ... 2/pull/710
but sure you need to port it to roger's core (not so difficult imo)
-
- Posts: 505
- Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2019 4:53 pm
- Location: Munich, Germany
- Contact:
Re: Having a problem with bootloader after uploading code
Yes as @stas2z mentioned.mauriziostm32 wrote: Sun Apr 19, 2020 11:05 am 1) To software reset in STM32 core I can use the function NVIC_SystemReset(); but what can I use for Roger's CORE?
Here is how it is handled by Roger's core:
https://github.com/rogerclarkmelbourne/ ... l.cpp#L313