Compile time so slow

Post here all questions related to STM32 core if you can't find a relevant section!
Eldi4
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 8:10 am
Answers: 1
Location: Kediri, Indonesia

Compile time so slow

Post by Eldi4 »

Did anyone had any idea on this problem?, I am using Arduino IDE 1.8.10, STM32Core, compiling time always take 1 minute or more, which is absolutely annoying, i havent tested on another core though, but it doesnt matter, i just use stm32core these times.
User avatar
fpiSTM
Posts: 1738
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:11 pm
Answers: 91
Location: Le Mans
Contact:

Re: Compile time so slow

Post by fpiSTM »

Hi Eldi4,
I guess you build under Windows ?
This is related to Arduino IDE.
If you have an antivirus (mainly real-time protection) you can try to disable it.

For example on Linux, I build a sketch in few seconds while the same one on Windows builds in one or more minutes.
Eldi4
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 8:10 am
Answers: 1
Location: Kediri, Indonesia

Re: Compile time so slow

Post by Eldi4 »

fpiSTM wrote: Fri Jan 10, 2020 2:26 pm Hi Eldi4,
I guess you build under Windows ?
This is related to Arduino IDE.
If you have an antivirus (mainly real-time protection) you can try to disable it.

For example on Linux, I build a sketch in few seconds while the same one on Windows builds in one or more minutes.
Yes, i use version 1903 of Windows 10 Pro, My computer didnt have any antivirus installed.
While uploading on normal arduino board it was pretty fast (under 10 seconds), but when uploading to stm32core board, it slows down.
User avatar
fpiSTM
Posts: 1738
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:11 pm
Answers: 91
Location: Le Mans
Contact:

Re: Compile time so slow

Post by fpiSTM »

I know, but I could not do anything, it relies to the Arduino IDE and how it manages third party core.
I've already had several feedback about that but always the same, Arduino IDE issue.
ag123
Posts: 1655
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2019 5:30 am
Answers: 24

Re: Compile time so slow

Post by ag123 »

if you are using the arduino IDE
there is this little documented
https://github.com/arduino/Arduino/blob ... es.txt#L53

Code: Select all

build.path
option.
normally Arduino IDE builds in a temporary folder, i dislike that very much as well
i think using this option would place the builds in a fixed path
so try setting this path.
i think arduino ide could do incremental builds if the compiled object files are there. i.e. during an initial build, it parses and compiles all the files.
subsequently, incremental. if it is it would help a lot

if you use VSCode there is also a way to specify the output folder
viewtopic.php?f=18&p=430#p352
User avatar
fpiSTM
Posts: 1738
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:11 pm
Answers: 91
Location: Le Mans
Contact:

Re: Compile time so slow

Post by fpiSTM »

I don't think this change the build time.
Eldi4
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 8:10 am
Answers: 1
Location: Kediri, Indonesia

Re: Compile time so slow

Post by Eldi4 »

So, all we have to do is just wait for Arduino IDE to be patched?
User avatar
fpiSTM
Posts: 1738
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:11 pm
Answers: 91
Location: Le Mans
Contact:

Re: Compile time so slow

Post by fpiSTM »

Eldi4 wrote: Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:13 am So, all we have to do is just wait for Arduino IDE to be patched?
Yes... but this point is open since a long time, so I don't think this will be solved soon. Maybe this will be better with the new IDE...
Eldi4
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 8:10 am
Answers: 1
Location: Kediri, Indonesia

Re: Compile time so slow

Post by Eldi4 »

fpiSTM wrote: Sat Jan 11, 2020 5:29 am
Eldi4 wrote: Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:13 am So, all we have to do is just wait for Arduino IDE to be patched?
Yes... but this point is open since a long time, so I don't think this will be solved soon. Maybe this will be better with the new IDE...
You mean using other IDE rather than Arduino IDE?, do you have any recommendation on that?
User avatar
fpiSTM
Posts: 1738
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:11 pm
Answers: 91
Location: Le Mans
Contact:

Re: Compile time so slow

Post by fpiSTM »

No, I talk about the new Arduino Pro IDE which is actually in beta version and based on Theia
Post Reply

Return to “General discussion”