Page 1 of 2

Adafruit_ST7735 > 1.1.0 not working

Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2021 12:10 pm
by Kenjutsu
Hello everyone,

I am using an F411 Black Pill with an ST7735 SPI TFT display connected to SPI1. Originally, I have been using PlatformIO with all the latest updates as of today installed. None of the Adafruit examples seemed to work. I then started up the Arduino IDE and the Adafruit examples worked.

Baffled, I started investigating and saw that under Arduino, I have not updated the Adafruit library, and it is still at v1.1.0. When I update the library to any other version > 1.1.0, the examples no longer seem to work. The MCU is not frozen, since I added code to blink the onboard LED in loop(), and that works.

I am using the Official Core v2.0.0

Can anyone confirm if the latest version of the Adafruit library works with an F411?

Thank you!

Re: Adafruit_ST7735 > 1.1.0 not working

Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2021 1:21 pm
by mrburnette
I started investigating and saw that under Arduino, I have not updated the Adafruit library, and it is still at v1.1.0. When I update the library to any other version > 1.1.0, the examples no longer seem to work.
Great foresight into problem solving. But, now that you know it is highly likely an Adafruit issue: take it to Adafruit's forum or stay with the older lib version.

Adafruit for some time has been evolving their libraries to a new unified model which eases their maintenance effort. Things will break during such architectural exercises; Adafruit may even be aware and just has not prioritizes the fixes yet.

Re: Adafruit_ST7735 > 1.1.0 not working

Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2021 1:24 pm
by fpiSTM
You talk about this library ?
https://github.com/adafruit/Adafruit-ST ... /tag/1.7.3

If true, then I don't understand the v 1.1.0 as the latest is 1.7.3

Re: Adafruit_ST7735 > 1.1.0 not working

Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2021 1:36 pm
by Kenjutsu
fpiSTM wrote: Wed Aug 25, 2021 1:24 pm You talk about this library ?
https://github.com/adafruit/Adafruit-ST ... /tag/1.7.3

If true, then I don't understand the v 1.1.0 as the latest is 1.7.3
Yes, this library. With the F411, only v1.1.0 works, all newer versions produce no output on the display :?

Re: Adafruit_ST7735 > 1.1.0 not working

Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2021 1:39 pm
by Kenjutsu
mrburnette wrote: Wed Aug 25, 2021 1:21 pm But, now that you know it is highly likely an Adafruit issue: take it to Adafruit's forum or stay with the older lib version.
That will be my next step ;) I just want to confirm whether other members are also experiencing the same issue.

Re: Adafruit_ST7735 > 1.1.0 not working

Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2021 1:43 pm
by fpiSTM
I used the 1.7.3 recently without any issue.

Re: Adafruit_ST7735 > 1.1.0 not working

Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2021 1:44 pm
by fpiSTM
Be careful the library has several dependencies as stated in the library.properties:
depends=Adafruit GFX Library, Adafruit seesaw Library, SD

Re: Adafruit_ST7735 > 1.1.0 not working

Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2021 4:05 pm
by Kenjutsu
Something really weird is going on...

I wired up an F103 to the display with the same result. Only v1.1.0 is working. :?

I went ahead and deleted all the libraries in the Arduino libraries folder. I then proceeded to add the Adafruit_ST7735 library and at the prompt install all the dependencies.

I tried again on the F103 with the same result: only v1.1.0 is working...

Re: Adafruit_ST7735 > 1.1.0 not working

Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2021 5:50 pm
by Bakisha
I just checked (on WeAct STM32F411CE), library version 1.7.3 .

It works if i use:

Code: Select all

#define TFT_DC PA_3 //
#define TFT_CS PA_4
#define TFT_RST PA_2
It doesn't work with:

Code: Select all

#define TFT_DC PA3 //
#define TFT_CS PA4
#define TFT_RST PA2
I don't know why it is behaving like that...

Re: Adafruit_ST7735 > 1.1.0 not working

Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2021 6:12 am
by Kenjutsu
Bakisha wrote: Wed Aug 25, 2021 5:50 pm I just checked (on WeAct STM32F411CE), library version 1.7.3 .

It works if i use:

Code: Select all

#define TFT_DC PA_3 //
#define TFT_CS PA_4
#define TFT_RST PA_2
It doesn't work with:

Code: Select all

#define TFT_DC PA3 //
#define TFT_CS PA4
#define TFT_RST PA2
I don't know why it is behaving like that...
Wow! Yup, I can confirm the same results :D Adding the underscore it now works with the F411. I also tested an ILI9341 display, and it also only works with the underscore.

However, with the F103, the only combination that I can get to work is with no underscore and only v1.1.0 of the library :?