Page 1 of 2
NUCLEO-H743ZI using all pins
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2021 7:12 am
by DrBanana
I have NUCLEO-H743ZI2 and I need to use almost all pins of board both input and output. The problem is some of them are not working as intended.
Like if I set use following, the PH1 never gets HIGH
PinMode(PH1, OUTPUT);
digitalWrite(PH1, HIGH);
same goes for PC8 and PC9 as input, but they are always HIGH, never goes low
any idea how to make it work ?
Re: NUCLEO-H743ZI using all pins
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2021 7:42 am
by ag123
maybe you'd need to check schematics etc to see if something is connected there.
PH0 and PH1 is your HSE crystal oscillator
PC14 and PC15 is your LSE 32 Khz crystal oscillator
check the specs
https://www.st.com/en/microcontrollers- ... 743zi.html
Re: NUCLEO-H743ZI using all pins
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2021 8:13 am
by DrBanana
PH1 is not connected to crystal, it should be but 25Mhz Crystal is not mounted soldered and nor its solder bridges.
Re: NUCLEO-H743ZI using all pins
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2021 12:00 pm
by ag123
Check for things like LEDs, pull up resistors etc, they tend to be 'littered' around boards and consuming gpios.
Re: NUCLEO-H743ZI using all pins
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2021 12:01 pm
by DrBanana
ag123 wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 12:00 pm
Check for things like LEDs, pull up resistors etc, they tend to be 'littered' around boards and consuming gpios.
I checked the entire PCB as its open source, there is nothing attached to PH1
Re: NUCLEO-H743ZI using all pins
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2021 12:12 pm
by ag123
Those OSC pins can have artefacts, I'd guess, They normally have a not gate (transistor) there to work as an oscillator. It may help to check specs, app notes etc.
Re: NUCLEO-H743ZI using all pins
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2021 12:51 pm
by DrBanana
ag123 wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 12:12 pm
Those OSC pins can have artefacts, I'd guess, They normally have a not gate (transistor) there to work as an oscillator. It may help to check specs, app notes etc.
okay I will avoid PH1 but what about PC8, PC9, PF14 not working as INPUT
Re: NUCLEO-H743ZI using all pins
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2021 1:54 pm
by fpiSTM
Well which connector you used to test?
For PC8 and PC9 there are not connected by default to the Morpho connector as SB are DNF by default:

- PC8-9_H743.png (2.62 KiB) Viewed 5563 times
Re: NUCLEO-H743ZI using all pins
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2021 1:56 pm
by fpiSTM
PF14 are available on the morpho but not on the CN10 A8 (as SB is DNF) A8 is PF6 by default.
Re: NUCLEO-H743ZI using all pins
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2021 3:41 pm
by DrBanana
fpiSTM wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 1:54 pm
Well which connector you used to test?
For PC8 and PC9 there are not connected by default to the Morpho connector as SB are DNF by default:
PC8-9_H743.png
I'm using both CN11 and CN12. Yes you are right, PC8 and PC9 have SBs DNF by default. I was focused on PF14, I forgot to check these 2.
Thank you, it works now.
Edit :
About PF14, the problem was in hardware connection, its all good except PH1 cant be used as output.